Yaya Toure Only African On FIFA Ballon D'or List

FIFA has released the names of the 23 nominees shortlisted for this year’s Ballon D’or prize (2013/2014 season). The list that was compiled by Fifa’s Football Committee and France Football has only one African footballer, Yaya Toure from Ivory Coast. In January, the list will be reduced to three finalists.

With six players on the list, Germany is actually taking the lead after winning this year’s World Cup. England who was sent home earlier in the World Cup does not have a single nominee on the list that is made up of 23 players. See the full list below.

Messi, who has won the prize for four consecutive times is also seen on the list. The Argentinean footballer won it in 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012. The current holder of the title is Cristiano Ronaldo who has won it twice already.

ALSO SEE: A Look At Kelechi Iheanacho’s Fashion Style.

[box type=”info” ]Gareth Bale – Wales
Karim Benzema – France
Diego Costa – Spain
Thibaut Courtois – Belgium
Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal
Angel Di Maria – Argentina
Mario Gotze – Germany
Eden Hazard – Belgium
Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Sweden
Andres Iniesta – Spain
Toni Kroos – Germany
Philipp Lahm – Germany
Javier Mascherano – Argentina
Lionel Messi – Argentina
Thomas Muller – Germany
Manuel Neuer – Germany
Neymar – Brazil
Paul Pogba – France
Sergio Ramos – Spain
Arjen Robben – Netherlands
James Rodriguez -Colombia
Bastian Schweinsteiger – Germany
Yaya Toure – Ivory Coast[/box]

Photo Source: dailymail.co.uk

Have Your Say